Chapter History

Events for 2015
ACFW Great Lakes
Submitted by Susan Tuttle

January 2015 – Pegg Thomas signed for representation with Linda S. Glaz of Hartline Literary Agency.

February 2015 – Our board met to discuss the upcoming year and finalize plans for area-wide meetings along with continuing forward with our writing retreat for May. We also hosted the first of our online meetings for the year entitled “Secrets of the Comma and Other Grammar Mysteries” by professional freelance editor, Robin Patchen.

March 2015 – One of our members, Dawn Crandall, won the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence for her Debut, The Hesitant Heiress.

April 2015 – We held our first in-person meeting of the year in Lapeer, Michigan. Splickety Prime editor, Sarah Grim, and Natasha Kern Literary Agency agent, Sue Brower, both met with our group for a time of education. Topics covered were flash fiction, what it is and how it can be used to improve our novels. Then Sue Brower shared advice from an agent as well as industry information.

June 2015 – We hosted a meeting in Lansing, Michigan. Kathleen Rouser spoke on how to Make the Most of Your Writing Time while Judy Eick presented information focused on how to Learn to Pitch Your Stories Like a Pro.

August 2015 – Our third physical meeting of the year was held in Grandville, Michigan. Author Dawn Crandall spoke on being a debut author and marketing. Agent Ann Byle talked about publishing options, reaching your readers, and how agents can help.  Also Rohn Federbush released Separation Anxiety.

September 2015 –  Dawn Crandall is a finalist in the ACFW Carol Awards for her debut The Hesitant Heiress. Joy Avery Melville wins ACFW Mentor of the Year. Deb Allard’s YA fiction suspense, Under the Blood Moon, the first book in her series, "Path to the Apocalypse” releases in e-book format.

October 2015 – Our final physical meeting for the year was in Gaylord, Michigan. Pegg Thomas spoke about Conflict, Consequences, and Conclusions, and Christine Johnson spoke on writing for Love Inspired. The board also firmed up our schedule for 2016, including making the majority of our meetings online as the Great Lakes region is quite spread out. Our goal is to provide quality material and information to our members in the easiest way for them to obtain it.

Board for 2015:
President – Karin Beery
Vice President – Ron Estrada
Secretary – Susan Tuttle
Treasurer – Pegg Thomas
Prayer Coordinator – Joy Avery Melville

Click here to find out how we got started